America the Beautiful

I love making these cards.  I found a way to make a flag card with stickers and paper.  I had this idea for 4th of July cards but, when I found these stickers, it made them a whole lot easier.  Who doesn’t love a quick card?Picture1.29 3413I love how these swing open and I put a sticker inside..so easy.Picture1.29 3414I did get a little carried away with stickers on this one but, It’s so fun!Picture1.29 3411I sent these out to my snail mail friends.  I love making red, white and blue cards.  I love this flag.Picture1.29 3412Here is how to make this one.

Use any color card stock, I used white, cut it at 4″ x 11″ then score it at 2 3/4″ & 5 1/2″.

Use any theme paper and cut three of them at 2 1/2 x 3 3/4″.  One of mine was the stars & two of mine were the red & white stripes.

Use any color card stock  cut 1″ x 11″ score at 5 1/2″ & 8 1/4″. Then I cut pattern paper to put on top, I used anchor paper cut at 5 1/4, 2 3/8 & 2 3/8″ you can make these longer or shorter, just don’t make them to long over the score lines.  I used double sided tape started at left side 2″ then at the end 2″. The best way I found was to close up the card and then put this piece on 2″ up from the bottom. The first try isn’t so easy. This piece needs to be folded with the 5 1/2 score line meeting up at the 11″ end. The 8 1/4″ score line sit’s on the card. The 5 1/2″ score line is the hinge that moves.  So many words but, once you play with it you get it.

I made the mistake on mine.  Decorate your panels before you put on that hinge. That way you know how far you want a sticker or a saying to be.  It’s all about the layers.

I would love to see what you come up with.  You can use any paper.  I have a friend who uses magazine pages and cereal boxes, she calls it junk cards.

Happy Card Making!

4 thoughts on “America the Beautiful

Leave a comment